childbirth · parenting · personal · pregnancy

Birth Story: My Firstborn

601078_407104126000010_388143273_n

I gave birth to my first child in June of 2012. I was 22 years old. The experience wasn’t as pleasant as I wanted to be. I was at my boyfriend’s house. I was 39 weeks pregnant. The days before I was having extreme cramping and pain in my abdomen. I went to the doctor and they told me everything was fine. I went home and I was still in pain. The next day I was fine. I went to Wal-Mart with my mother and grandmother. The pain started once again. I blew it off and it went away. Come to find out I had been in labor for 4 days and didn’t even know. The night at my boyfriends house was unique to say the least.  We ate dinner and I felt a weird sensation in my stomach that came every 15 minutes or so. It happened for about an hour straight. I called the ER and they said that sounds like false labor. They told me not to come into the Labor and Delivery unit. I thought this isn’t right and I felt like they were giving me the wrong information and I was right. I ended up going to the emergency room to see what was going on with my body and baby. Come to find out guys, I was having contractions every 2 minutes and couldn’t feel a thing. I was laughing and having a good time in the triage room, while I waited to go up to labor and delivery, which was packed with over 20 moms all in labor at the same time. It was also a full moon that night.

526716_404348066275616_838864949_n

Eventually I was moved up to L&D. My OBGYN finally came and he seemed to be in a rush. He made up a million excuses as to why I should have a c section. Being that I was not well versed in the medical reasons to have a c section, I agreed to have one. I saw my son after they pulled him from my womb and then I had to go under so that the surgeons could close up my body. I woke up 4 hours later. I was foggy and hardly knew what was going on, it was a terrible feeling and I didn’t get to hold my baby until a few hours after that. Eventually I woke up and saw my precious son. I had to stay in the hospital for 4 days and that had to be the worst four days ever. I felt like I had been ripped apart and honestly I really had been ripped apart. I was forced to walk to prevent blood clots which is normal procedure but it was absolutely horrible. I was constantly drugged up on morphine so that I wasn’t screaming in pain and all the morphine did was make me sleepy and I couldn’t tend to my baby the way that I wanted to. I don’t remember much since I was basically high the whole time. On the fourth day, I was given a laxative. JUST GREAT!! That was the worst pooping experience thus so far. Next I waited for my son to go through the newborn hearing and sight test and then it was time to go home. I walked slower than a turtle because my muscles were obviously separated. I was given aspirin with codeine if I remember correctly. I couldn’t laugh or do very much for about two weeks and I hated it. This experience was the very reason why I vowed to myself that I was going to have a VBAC the next time I gave birth to a child. And thank goodness I was able to do it the next time.

Leave a Reply

