childbirth · parenting

Why My First C-section Was Also My Last

I had a C-section 4 years ago for absolutely no reason other than a money hungry doctor. The reason was the most ridiculous thing ever. He convinced me that I needed to have a c-section. I was only 22 at the time and truly believing my doctor had my best interests in mind. I was wrong. After the horrible recovery of a c-section, I decided that I wasn’t going to have another one unless it was absolutely needed. I researched VBAC, which is a vaginal births after a c-section. I became very interested in having a birth in a more natural way. So I decided that was what I wanted for my next birth. When I became pregnant with my 2nd child, I found the best doctor around. He was kind and sweet and it helped that he was a gentle soul. He had no problem accepting me as a patient. He told me we would do everything to try and avoid another c-section. I scheduled a c-section date just in case anything went wrong and I wasn’t able to deliver vaginally. The day before my scheduled c-section, I gave birth to my daughter. I pushed her out in about 15 minutes. I did get some serious tears but my doctor stitched me up quite good and no scars are present. My recovery was significantly faster, easier, and better. I was up and moving a few hours after birth. I was sore, and in pain but nothing debilitating like the c-section. I went home in 3 days instead of 5. I was up and walking as if I didn’t have a baby just a week ago. I’m happy with my decision. I had another baby and that was vaginally as well. Hopefully all goes well with this pregnancy and delivery as well.

2 thoughts on “Why My First C-section Was Also My Last

Leave a Reply

